Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys

Will Self


Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys

Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys

  • Title: Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys
  • Author: Will Self
  • ISBN: 9780141040219
  • Page: 252
  • Format: Paperback

Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys Will Self Will The New York Times Book Review has called Will Self a defiant satirist with a peculiar mastery of the vocabulary of modern neurosis, and Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys is a dazzling foray into his funhouse world. wd Accessories at Tough Toys Buy x Accessories, Off Tough Toys supplies the cheapest wd accessories in Brisbane and Australia With quality real world tested x accessories, Tough Toys always sell at mates rates Offering some excellent wd techniques, wd tracks, and camping advice. Tough Times Never Last, But Tough People Do Robert H Tough Times Never Last, But Tough People Do Robert H Schuller on FREE shipping on qualifying offers Name your problem, and you name your possibility That s the message in Dr Robert H Schuller s new bestseller



Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys stories by Booker shortlisted author Will Self Self at his most nihilistic and funny you ll laugh and flinch at the same time Guardian Self has turned out an hilarious collection, with the requisite touch of disorientation Flytopia , the story about a man who suddenly finds flies lovable than his girlfriend, follows the KaTough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys stories by Booker shortlisted author Will Self Self at his most nihilistic and funny you ll laugh and flinch at the same time Guardian Self has turned out an hilarious collection, with the requisite touch of disorientation Flytopia , the story about a man who suddenly finds flies lovable than his girlfriend, follows the Kafkaesque line Self opened with his recent novel Great Apes man as animal Story for Europe , about a two year old north Londoner who suddenly starts speaking business German, is comic genius Brenda Maddox, New Statesman When Will Self wants to step outside his cultivated amoral threshold and shock us into rage, the effect can be profound an awesome London Dungeon of a collection Self is a massive talent Time Out He has a powerful sense of place the murkier streets of London where anything can happen And modernity is his urgent subject The TimesFor readers of The Book of Dave and Umbrella, Tough, Tough Boys will also be adored by readers of Martin Amis, David Mitchell and Irvine Welsh.Will Self is the author of nine novels including Cock and Bull My Idea of Fun Great Apes How the Dead Live Dorian, an Imitation The Book of Dave The Butt Walking to Hollywood and Umbrella, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize He has written five collections of shorter fiction and three novellas The Quantity Theory of Insanity Grey Area License to Hug The Sweet Smell of Psychosis Design Faults in the Volvo 760 Turbo Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys Dr Mukti and Other Tales of Woe and Liver A Fictional Organ with a Surface Anatomy of Four Lobes Self has also compiled a number of nonfiction works, including The Undivided Self Selected Stories Junk Mail Perfidious Man Sore Sites Feeding Frenzy Psychogeography Psycho Too and The Unbearable Lightness of Being a Prawn Cracker.


Recent Comments "Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys"

Who says short story collections have to be 30% filler? Will Self hits eight consecutive balls out of the proverbial park with his third collection of short fiction, Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys. Whether writing a story about two drug-dealing brothers who find a stratum of crack beneath their London flat; or about a pair of parents worrying over their child's mental development, oblivious to the fact that the gibberish Baby is spouting is actually fluent business German; or another ab [...]

A baby speaks in business German. A colony of flies forms an ecosystem in a stressed husband's loft. A pedophile wins a literary prize. What more could you want?

My mouse pointer hesitates over the "recommend to friends" button, not because I didn't thoroughly enjoy this book--with every Self title I read I immediately want to read more--he surprises at every turn, his prose snicker-snacks electrically across the page--but yes, he's verbose and very British and I live in, well, America. The hesitation is because he's challenging and therefore all the more rewarding but some readers might not be looking for this sort of a challenge. But screw it. My mouse [...]

4.5/5 stars, only because two of the stories in the middle aren't as amazing as 3/4 of the book.This is my introduction to a writer I suspect I will cherish as I do an Eggers, or Saunders, and for essentially the same reasons. "Caring, Sharing" in particular blew me away: satirical, dark, incisive, incredibly inventive. I will now begin working my way through Will Self's other works. Very highly recommended for lovers of contemporary and/or dark fiction.

This was my first Will Self book and remains one of my favorites. It was an excellent presage for the other books I'd read by him and contains some amazing stories that I find myself still thinking about years later. Every story here is interesting, and like a lot of his work, you don't necessarily pick up every nuance on the first read. I think Design Faults in the Volvo 760 Turbo is a great story, but it's one that at first bored me a bit. Every single thing I've read by Self has either entert [...]

Interesting collection of short stories - some of them interlinked with interesting twists. Suffers a bit from Will Self's addiction to obscure language.

I was attracted to Will Self by his reputation as an absurdist writer. Some of his concepts here were interesting. However I found his style to be over literary, which these days feels clunky to me.

I enjoyed the first story in this collection of short stories, but as with much of Self's fiction I just gave up. It's not that the prose is bad, it's very well written in fact, but it just doesn't appeal to me. His style is quite absurdist and full of odd metaphors, whereas I like realist narratives. Please don't let my review put you off, particularly if you are a fan of Self's works. So far I have only enjoyed one of the three books of his that I've picked up, but only because his style and c [...]

An enjoyable collection. Don’t know that I will do any more Self. This wasn’t bad, but there are short story writers out there who are better.

What can be said about Will Self that hasn't been said about the Rocky franchise? He's taken a few hits but nothing really knocks him down. 'Tough, Tough Toys' is a dirty little collection of stories that dwell in and about the same neighborhoods that most Self fictions reside. Incorporating elements of science fiction, and social commentary in absurd and hilarious stories. Self continues to renovate the landscape of modern fiction. Let's just hope he's not erecting a crack house in its stead. S [...]

"Tough, tough toy for tough, tough boys" is a collection of 8 short stories. Each story has a creative or narrative twist; for example in "Caring, sharing" wealthy humans own engineered beings, which look like humans but are about three times their size, to protect them and care for them. In the aptly named "The rock of crack as big as the Ritz" a small-time dealer finds a seam of crack in the basement of his house, as in a crack mine!Unfortunately these twists are the only saving grace of said [...]

Between 1989-1999, I doubt England produced a more lavishly gifted writer of short fiction than Will Self. His novels have rarely succeeded, typically running out of steam after the fifth chapter. In his stories, as in his best journalism, he can swoop, soar and quit while he's still ahead. My enduring favourite remains 'Flytopia' - and I have been known to quote its closing paragraphs at the dinner table.

I feel a bit ambivalent about this collection. On the one hand, I liked the writing in places but the stories were weak. The only story I really liked was the one with the emotos, Caring Sharing. Will Self has a tendency to look for the most obscure word/idea and use that, which makes his stories and writing a bit recherche.

This excellent collection of short stories ranges from the crack halls of london to the sci-fi world of Twilight Zone. Will Self is one of the best short-story writers of this generation, in my opinion. I loved almost every story in this collection, although most of them made me slightly queasy.

Will Self was addicted to several hard drugs while writing this collection of short stories, and it shows. While definitely not his strangest work, Self's mind travels here in directions most of us couldn't locate without a compass. The material is solid throughout, with a few exceptions. My favorite stories were 'Flytopia', 'Caring, Sharing' and 'The Nonce Prize'.

Probably one of Self's best short story collections on account of being particularly well put together (although I haven't read Liver yet, which probably takes the hat on that one). Good mix of the real and the fantastical, and just grotesque enough without leading to nausea on the tube.

Some of the stories in this collection, all superbly written, were a bit too dark and dense for me to get into. Some others seem overly gimmicky. But a few hit the nail right on the head. A mixed bag.

My favorite Will Self! Oh, the ecstasy of the prose.

This man's imagination must be one of the most twisted on planet earth. Each short story is escapism of the highest order. I dont think Ive come across another author who makes me chortle so much.

Golden. I'll read anything Self has written.

Before you start this book, know who Will Self is. I don't want to read any more complaints about his themes. Those are his themes, and he's great at it.

More twisted tales from the disturbed mind of Will Self. A kind of perverse ode to his home town of London too.

gnomeship/2013/03

It's no Book of Dave. Nor is it My Idea of Fun. But some of his short stories are quite good. Like listening to college radio: it's hit and miss. Perhaps it will be your idea of fun.

Out of the loop!

Well written. Sometimes disturbing subject matter.

Not bad, a little dreary in places. Final story saved it from 2 stars.

signed & inscribed by author

The rock of crack as big as a house Just Will Self at his best.

A mixed bag, some genuinely shocking and funny, some just pass the time. Worth a read but not as good as quantity theory.


  • Best Read [Will Self] ï Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys || [Mystery Book] PDF ✓
    252 Will Self
  • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Will Self] ï Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys || [Mystery Book] PDF ✓
    Posted by:Will Self
    Published :2018-07-23T14:31:08+00:00